distractions

Posted on January 2, 2011

2


I had a scary moment earlier.

I used to play guitar incessantly. From the age of about 14 up 29ish it was a major part of my life. I wasn’t bad at it either and even entertained ideas of trying to turn professional at one point. I suppose I was a typical teenager of one type who gets very caught up in music and playing guitar, like a few other people I know.

I don’t listen to music half as much as I used to. Also, it was around a couple of years ago that I noticed that I really wasn’t playing guitar as much as I had done previously. I’ve still hung on to two acoustic guitars though, one of which I’ve had since I was 15, a birthday present.

I got into playing classical guitar as well, aside from my usual grumpy rock.

Anyway, I was ‘noodling’ earlier, playing over a piece that muscle memory had maintained for me, surprisingly, even. I realised that when playing something over and over or practicing a piece over and over I space out mentally, to a large extent. But it was a mind I also recognise from meditating that is unskillful in that it is un-alert and dissipated. That really shook me and I realised that I have perhaps a strong tendency to enter that state – which I often encounter – whilst meditating, probably as a result of years of strumming and plucking away at the guitar.

Maybe that’s why I’ve started to shy away from playing over the last couple of years. Either way, seeing that clearly really made me jump. At the back of my mind I’ve been toying with giving away my little stack of music books and selling my guitars to a second-hand place. Still not sure if I’m ready to do that…. maybe I should learn to play mindfully instead…. zen guitar.

Posted in: Uncategorized